The Holy Spirit is with Us

Yesterday when I got to work one of my managers took me aside and said that two different customers that I had served on Friday had emailed the corporate office to complain about my service. When I got home last night, my wife and I had a fight. The latter incident was resolved with apologies, hugs, and kisses. The former just dissipated into the ether. In both cases I believe that the Holy Spirit was key to the resolution.

As a Catholic I believe in the Triune God, that is God the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. One God in three persons. Of the three, the Holy Spirit has always been the hardest for me to define. I’ve been told that the Holy Spirit is the expression of God’s love, evidence of his perpetual presence. When we are feeling down, when we are angry, when life jumps up and hits us in the face, the Holy Spirit is with us. All we have to do is open our hearts to the Spirit’s loving power and the problems of the world seem a little less formidable.

This morning, as I was getting ready for work and worrying about what the managing partner would say about my recent customer evaluations, I said a prayer by St. Josemaria Escriva and invited the Holy Spirit to protect and guide me through life regardless of what may come.

My Lord and my God: into your hands I abandon the past, the present and the future, what is small and what is great, what amounts to a little and what amounts to a lot, things temporal and things eternal. Amen.

When I got to work, the managing partner greeted me with the words, “Hey buddy! Good job on EGSS!” (another customer comment vehicle that had delivered a rave review). It was an effective reminder of God’s constant presence in the person of the Holy Spirit.

Have a Blessed Day!

 


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Holy Spirit is with Us

  1. Helene

    Thanks for sharing that prayer Roberto. Hugs and many blessings to you and Lisa Helene. = )

Leave a Reply

